Home » Blog »

The Specifics About Me and My Businesses

My name is Jason, and pursuing my interests in travel has resulted in being self-employed with the ability to live, work, and travel anywhere in the world. I did not quit my career after 30 years, or 15 years, or 1 year in order to go travel. I have actually never had any traditional job since I have pursued my interest in business since age 16.

Now I am 22 years old and have been traveling full-time since January, 2010. I have also traveled or lived abroad at least four months each year since 2007. The following information is also on my “About Me” page but in this post I have recently updated the page with more detail. A few readers have requested I post more information about my businesses and this post is my response.

Where are you now?

Check the right hand side of this webpage below the photo to view my current location and future destinations.

But the general story is that since graduating university in December, 2009, I left the United States to revisit some places from my previous travels in  South America. I returned to the United States for a quick three weeks in May to attend a wedding and visit family. I then jetted away to explore more of the world and visit friends from past travels in many countries starting in Europe and ending in Asia the middle of September, 2010.

How are you able to work and travel full-time?

I earn 100% of my income on the internet with two businesses that only require contact through email.

Well, then what online businesses do you run?

I own a career consulting company and an online retail store. Click here

to learn more about my seven years of entrepreneurial history.  If you are to lazy to click the link I can explain both businesses briefly.

The career services company specializes in writing resumes, curriculum vitae, cover letters, and coaching clients on interviews to an average of 60 new clients each month, The company has created and revised over 1,000 resumes and curriculum vitae since 2007 for everyone from recent college graduates looking for their first job or professionals ready to take the next step in their career.

The second business, an online gift store, provides 15 categories of over 400 products including printed t-shirts, cologne, watches, sunglasses, tactical gear, lighters, and many more categories. Since 2005, the store has completed more than 2,990 orders and counting. I am able to manage this business online because I have arranged for manufacturers and wholesale distributors to ship products directly to each of my customers’.

How many hours do you work?

I really don’t know exactly. If I were to guess I would say I usually find myself working anywhere between 2-9 hours each day, seven days a week. I am never good at tracking monthly hours but I would estimate that I work around 35 hours per week. One major difference is that I always work at a past pace. While at a typical job someone might socialize with coworkers, grab some lunch, etc. my 2-9 workdays don’t involve any of that. I probably take off 1-2 unplanned days per month. But if I miss a day it usually means working twice as long the next day.

How much money do you earn?

Is this even an appropriate question to answer? If I do answer it with specifics I feel like it will come across like I am bragging. But it is a question people always ask me in person. If you really want to know you can comment on this post and I will send you an email with the amount. In general, I earn a really comfortable income. I choose to live well below my means and instead save a lot of money each month, even while incurring all of the expenses of full-time travel without a budget.

What is your typical day like?

I don’t have just one typical day but a few different types depending on where I am. No matter what I go to sleep whenever I feel exhausted which is usually between 1AM-4 AM and wake up whenever usually between 9AM-1PM.

If I am in an unfamiliar city for the first time I will typically go do an activity or walk around an area for a few hours, followed by work, and a night out at a bar or club.

In a familiar city that I have previously visited I usually start work after waking up. After working I might chill in a hammock, read, watch TV, or meet new people at the hostel. I almost always go out with some friends to a bar or disco afterward.

What is your favorite country you have visited?


. There is a good reason I have been to Colombia five times in the past four years.

What do you bring with you when you travel?

This is pretty easy to answer.  Click here to check out my packing list.

Jason Bartoli
Jason Bartoli

"Jason is the best person you'll ever meet here. He's just a ray of sunshine. An adventurer, businessman, and has a 4.9 Uber rating. Lovely person inside and out. I say, go message him" - My Mom

View stories